Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

I’m a Dirty Girl!

on December 1, 2012

Today 7,500 San Antonio women got dirty! Oh my gosh, so much fun. Since this is only my second mud run, I only have the Tough Mudder to compare it to. It was so much more fun than the TM. It was much shorter, just a 5K, and it was really for women. Women of all sizes and shapes and ages. There was so much pink there! It felt good to be there, with all of those other women. It was also really cool that my guys were there, taking pictures and cheering me on.

dirtysmile

That’s what I loved about it. I went with some girls from work, two girls who I really like and am so glad I got to know better.

Since I wasn’t miserable, I had more time to think about this one. I am so thankful for a healthy body. I am so thankful that I can do fun stuff like this.

I dedicated this run to my Aunt Jo Ann, who is a breast cancer survivor. She is a wonderful woman, who takes care of her young grand kids while their parents work and was really there for my mom and me when my dad died. I’m glad that she beat breast cancer, because the world is a better place because of her. I’m glad she is still with us and, as hard as it was to lose my dad, I am thankful for the chance to get to know her again. I feel like we have !really reconnected. I love you, Aunt Jo Ann

for aunt joann

This is the shirt I made for the run. On the back it says, “She’s a survivor.”

I love running.


Say what you gotta say

