Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

The Loves of My Life (in order of appearance): Lance

on February 10, 2013
tmcouch

Lance and me after the Tough Mudder in October of 2012. My favorite place in the world is snuggled on the couch with him.

 

We were 19 when we meet in a club called Congress Street Station in downtown Savannah, Georgia. I was a sophomore in college, living far away from home in a town where I stuck out like a sore thumb. He was a lonely Army private from Texas. He had asked two girls to dance and they said no. He told his friend that he was asking the next pretty girl who walked through the door to dance. If she said no, he was going back to the barracks.

I was that girl. I said yes. 14 months later, we were married. That was 19 years ago.  The love between us and the life we have built together  is nothing short of wonderful.

Where do I start? How can I tell you about this man?

This man, who lives for his family. Who literally collapses in bed at night after working all day and then coming home and being there – and I mean, totally and completely *present*- in his family’s life. This tender, kind man who is raising two sons, one with special needs, to be good men (just like him). This lovely man who has been married to the same woman for 19 years – and not once, not for one moment in that 19 years have I ever doubted that I am loved and admired and *wanted.* This solid, strong, true blue man who stood by me in my darkest days and was my rock when I needed something to hold on to. This funny, charming man who was also there when the sun warmed my skin again and then smiled and then reminded me that he told me it was going to be ok.

How can I tell you how much I love this man? How can I tell you how thankful I am to be the one he married? The one he comes home to every night.  One day, I’ll have you over for a cup of coffee and I’ll tell you all about it.

I love you, Lance.


Say what you gotta say

