Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Weights Off My Chest – literally and figuratively

on June 10, 2013

Today is the first day of Summer Vacation!  Yay!  Not the only reason I love being a teacher, but in the top ten reasons for sure.  It’s nice to slow down and spend time with the boys.  It’s nice not to have to get up to an alarm clock for a couple of months.  I feel like I have the best of both worlds – work outside of the home mom and stay at home mom.  I get to stay home during the summer, and just when I start to need more to do and the boys need to get back to a real routine, it’s August again.  And then, when I am just burnt out from school and the routine and need a break, it’s June again.  I love that.

Anyways, I have never been more glad that it’s June.  There were a lot of things going on.  Class parties, paperwork, report cards, concerts, assemblies.  And, Butch’s Promotion Ceremony.  My baby boy is now a middle schooler.  He turns 12 tomorrow.  Where has the time gone?

I started the day by going in and getting another mammogram on my left boob.  It wasn’t aboard the Boobie Bus, this time.  It was down in the Medical Center, at a cancer hospital.  I had planned on taking silly pictures and posting a light-hearted post about it, but when I walked in the doors and saw the families there visiting cancer patients, shit kinda got real.

The staff was so kind and gentle.  I was taken back right away, even though I was early.  I changed and was seated in the inner waiting area, with four other women, all of us in our front opening robes.

The actual mammogram was pretty quick.  She had to get images up higher on my boob and deeper in the tissue.  This meant lots of leaning and some serious squishing.  Poor Lefty is pretty sore.  She took two images and was pretty quick.  She then walked me back to the inner room, where all the other ladies were still sitting and I waited until whoever was reading the images read them and told me he/she wanted an ultrasound or I was ok to go.

While I waited, the other ladies were one by one told they could leave, all was ok.  I was alone for a few minutes.   Then, I was told I was ok.  Everything was clear.  With a huge sigh of relief, I decided I deserved ice cream.

As I left, I said a prayer for all the ladies who came before and will come to that place after me.  That the news is good or if not, they caught it quickly enough.  I can’t imagine what it must feel like to have cancer and to wonder if you are going to pull through.    To wonder if you are going to leave your husband a widower or your children motherless.  I just can’t imagine.

I couldn’t find an ice cream shop and I didn’t want to drive around.  I settled for a Frappachino at Starbuck’s.  As I was handing the dude my card, he handed me the drink and said, “Free!”

20130610-113703.jpg

Cancer Free and Free Coffee!

You can’t beat that!  No cancer and then a free drink!  Right on.

Then I went home and gave my dogs their pupsicles (frozen beef broth).  That was worth about a half an hour of entertainment, until Jack wanted to come in the house with his.

20130610-113713.jpg

“Hey, canth Ith comth inth the houth?”

20130610-113727.jpg

“If I sit like a pretty boy, can I bring it in?”

And then Scout lost hers in the bushes and tried to take Jack’s.  She chased him around the yard for a while, which is always a good time for Jack.

20130610-113750.jpg

“Gimme that yummy cold thing!”

And, then I took the boys to the pool.  And, I was nice to people.  I disapproved on no one.  It was fun.

If this first day is an indication of who my summer is going to go, it is going to be a great one.

Happy Summer, y’all.


3 responses to “Weights Off My Chest – literally and figuratively

  1. DinaCakes says:

    Lovin your life today. Mine was filled with surprises and I don’t mean the pleasant ones. As you may have seen on FB. But against the blessings outweigh the curses. Here’s to a new day!

  2. Happy summer Melly! So glad things turned out okay with lefty. Love your positive outlook on life. You are so much fun.

  3. […] Mammograms are not that bad.  I did it back when I turned 40.  I took a ride on the Boobie Bus.  Then, I even had to go back to get Lefty checked. […]

Say what you gotta say

