Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Disneyland Half Marathon Weekend 2013

on September 9, 2013

I did it! I ran my first half marathon. And, I did it Disney. Oh yeah. Disney knows how to put on an event.

The idea was conceived last year when my childhood friends and I were talking about turning 40. We wanted to do something special. Since a lot of us were runners, we decided to commit to running a half marathon together. And, the Disneyland Half just seemed like the most appropriate one to run. I mean, who doesn’t love Mickey Mouse.

Heather, the ultimate planner, found us a package. We were able to make payments and all pitch in and afford a room for the weekend at the beautiful Grand Californian Hotel right inside the Disneyland Resort. What a beautiful hotel! We loved every minute of our stay there.

We also had the bonus of seeing two other lifelong friends. Peter, who was in town for a business meeting, decided to stay the weekend and hang out with us. He was even on the same flight from San Francisco as Heather ( AKA Busty). Peter was our support person. He took many of our pictures and was at the finish line to greet us. It was so good to see him.

airport

Peter, me and Heather at LAX.

We checked into our hotel and went to the Expo to get our numbers.  The line was very long (lines at Disney? NO WAY!)

Hotel

At the hotel!

numbers

No turning back now! We have our numbers!

That night, we met my favorite aunts, JoAnn and Kris for dinner in Downtown Disney.  Love them.

Aunts

I thought I was taller than them.

Our friend, Marc, lives in Anaheim and is a big Disney fan. This was his third Disney Half. He had us over for a pasta dinner the night before the race. I had not seen Marc since the 8th grade.  We enjoyed meeting his family and talking about our childhood.  I ended the night feeling so lucky to have these life long friends in my life.

After dinner, we all went back to the hotel and got to bed early.  I started to get kind of nervous.  I don’t really know why, but I kept everyone up for an hour or two chatting hysterically.  Finally, Jenny asked me to whisper so she could sleep and I got the hint.

We all got up at 3:00 AM and got dressed in our costumes. I was a nervous wreck. I don’t know why.  The unknown?

minnie

Jenny as Minnie Mouse. She had ears, but I didn’t notice she didn’t have them on.

peter

Kerry as Peter Pan. So cute!

pirate

Heather as a pirate. She has a thing for pirates.

mrsi

Me as Mrs. Incredible.

We walked down to the finish line and met up with Marc and his friend, Heather.  We were in Corral E, I think, so it took about a half an hour after Corral A started for us to get to begin.  We finally got up the start line and got started.

I must say, I enjoyed every step of the run.  Running through the park was amazing.  There were tons of Disney employees out to cheer us on.  Running in Cars Land was awesome.  It was just like running in Radiator Springs.  Running passed It’s a Small World got me a little choked up.  The last time I was there, I wouldn’t have dreamed I could be a runner. I love that I’m a runner.  Running changed my life.

We left the park and ran through Anaheim towards Angel Stadium.  Lining the streets along the race route were high school bands, cheer squads and classic cars.  They were all cheering for us as we ran by.   I loved that there was so much to see as we ran.  It made the miles go much more quickly.

Running through Angel Stadium was the coolest.  As we entered the stadium, there was cheering and clapping. The course was lined with Cub Scouts and Girl Scouts cheering for us and high fiving.  I could not stop smiling.

After Angel Stadium, the course headed back to Disneyland. The closer we got to the park, the more people there were, high fiving and cheering us on. Without all of those well wishers,  I am not sure I would have been able to meet my goal of running the entire thing.

I crossed the finish line and got my medal.  My beautiful medal.  I met up with Peter and waited for Heather.  Then, we found Kerry and Jenny.

thefourofus

Us with our medals!

I love this picture.  It was such a great feeling, setting a physical goal and then meeting it in this amazing way.  I had so much fun that weekend.   I laughed all weekend long.  Seeing these girls again and getting caught up did my soul well.

hotel2

All of us with our medals. Said goodbye to Marc after this was taken. 😦

beers

Kerry and me at lunch after the run. Nothing like pizza and beer after a long, hot run.

luigis

In Cars Land after the race. We said goodbye to Peter after this. Wish he would have stayed another day!

Ok, so here are my thoughts about the actual run and what I think went right:  I’m glad that I used Body Glide between my legs.  I was very thankful for my water belt (I also drank at every water station).  I was also glad that I had my GU.  I am so thankful for my iPod and all of my music!   I was also glad that I tried Immodium AD, to keep me from having to stop every five minutes and poop.  I had tried it two weeks before to see when and how much worked for me.  I know that some people think it’s a bad idea, but it worked for me and I was happy with the outcome.  Most of all, I am so glad that I got to share this experience with my friends (the run, not the Immodium, although I did  over share  when it came to my body functions.  Sorry, girls).

My only not having my sunglasses with me.  The race started when it was still dark, but the sun came up and I was running right into it for a long time.  Next time, I’ll put them in my water belt pocket in case I need them.

So, what’s next?  The Rock and Roll Marathon here in San Antonio.  Even though I ran every step of this run, I think that is good enough.  I am going to use the Galloway Run/Walk Method.   I am also going to make a point to volunteer at some local events soon.  Volunteers are so important!


4 responses to “Disneyland Half Marathon Weekend 2013

  1. Congrats Melly! YOU DID IT! So glad it went well for you and that you had so much fun with your friends. You are awesome.

  2. mary m says:

    Yay!!! You did it 🙂 congratulations!

  3. Kory says:

    Next time I want you to try the melly run/walk/poop method. The we can document it a sell the program to all the women who can’t take a decent dump. We would make a killing!

Say what you gotta say

