Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

An Apology

on September 22, 2013

Dear Treadmill,

I said some pretty horrible things about you.  I said some pretty horrible things to you.  I called you names.  I said you were stupid and boring.  I used you with a bad attitude.

I’m sorry.  From the bottom of my callused toes, I’m sorry.

The truth is, you were really good for me.  Without you, the summer’s heat and humidity would have derailed my training.  I wouldn’t have been able to run the races I ran this summer if you hadn’t been there for me.

fourthfour

On the Fourth of July – a day I have always wanted to run – I had a personal record run.  Because of your hill settings, I was able to leave even the Crossfit Girls behind on that big hill (yes, if you are younger and skinnier than me, we are racing and I will try my best to pass you) .  I owned that hill, baby.  This run was a turning point for me as a runner.

chup

Later that month, I ran another race I have always wanted to do: El Chupacabra de San Antonio.  Because of my training on you, Treadmill, I was able to keep up with my friend, Jenni, who is a machine!  One of my favorite runs to date.  Loved it.  The shirt from this race is my favorite, I wear it all the time.

13.1

And, of course, I spent the summer with you training for my first half marathon.  I blew my expected pace out of the water and had the best run of my life so far (not to mention one of my top five weekends of my life).  All because you were there for me, Treadmill.

Now, as the weather gets cooler, I’ll be taking my runs outside more often.  Of course, there may be a few rainy or dark days I come see you for a few miles.  Don’t be sad, Treadmill, we’ll always have summer.

Love, Melly


One response to “An Apology

Say what you gotta say

