Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Setting My Goals by the Ways I Define Myself – Wife

on October 2, 2013

muddymayhem3Who I am (or how I see myself)  is pretty much summed up in my tag line:   Wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter.  The first two are  obviously  the most important.   My family is the reason I get up in the morning.  They are the reason I do everything I do.

To me, being a wife is being a friend, a partner and lover to my husband.  Lance should be able to count on me more than anyone else in the world.   He should know that I will always have his back, be his biggest cheerleader and treat him with love and respect at all times.

And, for the most part, I think I do.  But, sometimes, I wonder if I could be a little more understanding.  Listen a little better, not nag him about the small stuff.   Be a little more thoughtful and affectionate.

We both are so busy with our jobs and the kids, with managing the house and trying to make time for our hobbies, I think we tend to forget that before all that we have now – back when we were just Lance and Melly No House, No Kids and No Careers – we did take the time to hold hands and snuggle on the couch.  We talked about what interested us and what our dreams were – not just who picked up the dry cleaning and when we were going to take the car in for an oil change.

Not to say that we aren’t close.  He knows me better than I know myself.  There is no one I’d rather hang out with.  But, I think we could do better.  I think we could slow down and take the time to  just be Lance and Melly every so often.  Hold hands, share a dessert, talk.

So, that’s one of the ways I am going to up my game.  I’m going to schedule a date night and hold his hand in the parking lot (even when the kids are with us).   I’m going to snuggle with him and write him a love letter.  I’m just going to listen.

And pat his ass.  ‘Cause he’s got a sweet one.


One response to “Setting My Goals by the Ways I Define Myself – Wife

  1. Tonya says:

    Love it!!! – Yes, up your game and hold that hand! Because before you know it the time will come when you are just Lance and Melly again. ;( — But, it also is awesome. You two are cute!

Say what you gotta say

