Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Thankful Thursday

on October 3, 2013

It seems like I have been spending a great deal of my time thinking of solutions for my problems.  It’s a bunch of little stuff that is going wrong these days here at home and at school.  No big, earth shattering stuff – little stuff that when all added together is pretty exhausting.

Today, I got terribly discouraged.  To the point of tears.

But, then I talked to my mom and she told me about how people in Africa are going blind from lack of nutrition.  Like, young kids getting cataracts. I realized, my problems are still problems, but damn, they could be so much worse.

I have a lot of stuff in my life that is going pretty well.   Here they are, the top ten things that are going right in my life (in no particular order):

1.  My family is all healthy and happy.  My boys are growing up to be pretty amazing young men.

2.  My mom lives a mile away.  I get to see her every day and my boys are very close to her.   We are closer than we have ever been and I am loving every minute of it.  I am so glad she decided to move here to be near us.

3. I am married to my favorite person in the whole world.

4.  We can pay our bills every month with a little left over to enjoy life.

5.  I can lace up my running shoes and go on a run whenever I choose.   My body is healthy and strong.

6.  I work at a school full of people who I can count on, trust and who have something to teach me.  The cream of the crop, these people.  Every one of them.

7.  I work side by side in my classroom with an incredible friend who makes me want to be a better person.

8,  I am still close to people I have known since the third grade.  It is so nice not to have to explain myself.  We have history.

9.  Beer and chocolate.

10.  I have a beautiful home in an awesome city.   With orange walls.  I love my orange walls.

I have a good life.


2 responses to “Thankful Thursday

  1. Brenda says:

    Sounds like an awesome start to a great gratitude book. Read and continue when you feel down..it never lasts long.

  2. Great post. I think the pollens last week had some depression juice.

Say what you gotta say

