Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Petsmart Grant

on October 8, 2013

I borrowed a snake for my classroom a couple of weeks ago.  His name was Shiner and the kids loved him.  It brought up a lot of great language and conversation, especially when he pooped.

I decided that I wanted to get a full-time class pet.  But, they are expensive.  I heard about the Petsmart Grant.   All I had to do was fill out an online form.  I asked for a hamster.  Less than a week later, I got an acceptance letter and coupons to get me set up with a hamster.   I went down to Petsmart, excited to get our new pet.  I chose a Chinese Dwarf Hamster because it was so stinking cute, I couldn’t stand it.  The coupons also allowed me to get a cage (one of those cool ones I had when I was a kid with the tubes the hamster can climb through), bedding, and food.  I also got him one of those little balls he can roll around in.  It came to about $80.  I only paid about $16.

20131006-204330.jpg

The little guy all buckled up and on the way to my house.

I took him home and got his new home ready.

20131006-204348.jpg

Isn’t he cute? I love him so much!

The next day, I took him to school.  They kids were over the moon for him.  We named him Baby.  I am amazed at the language I am getting out of my little ones when we talk about him.   They are learning about the difference between living and non living things (Living things need food, water and shelter.  Living things poop and pee).

It’s been fun.  And, I bring him home every weekend, so my own boys can enjoy him.

20131006-204406.jpg

Scout thinks he is a snack, I think.

Thanks, Petsmart!


One response to “Petsmart Grant

Say what you gotta say

