Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Setting My Goals by the Way I Define Myself – Teacher

on October 11, 2013

I love being a preschool teacher.  After wife and mother, it is the most important role in my life.  I am very proud to say that I am a teacher.

I love schools.  I love crayons, paint, the sound of the school bell and the smell of the books in the library.  In the morning, I love putting my arms out in the hallway to catch those little kids running to class. “Walking feet,” I say.   On Thursdays, I love nodding to my fellow educators, “Almost there,” we say, “Almost Friday.”  I love the cafeteria pizza and enchiladas.  And the tater tots, I love the hugs, the little voices I hear all day,  I love it when one of my little students does something for himself for the first time or applies something she has learned to the world.   I love being tired at the end of the day – going to bed at night, knowing I worked hard for my students.  I love how much my students love their teachers. How happy they are to see us every morning.   I love watching them grow.

crayons-300x237

I was born to teach.  I was born to teach early childhood.  Three and four-year olds are my people.  I get them.  They get me.

My goals as a teacher are to continue my education, learn more about child development and to have a kick ass classroom and to remember who I am teaching.

I’m looking at graduate programs.  I think it is time to get my masters.

I’m researching age appropriate activities and reading about the brain.

I am trying to think outside the box to come up with interesting and relevant materials to have in our classroom.

And, most importantly, when I get frustrated or tired, I take a deep breath and keep in mind  that I am teaching the very young.  That they are so little and they have so much to learn.

And to remember what a privilege it is to spend my days with them.

peace_love_teaching_sticker-p217979096772758847qjcl_400


3 responses to “Setting My Goals by the Way I Define Myself – Teacher

  1. kaylashook says:

    Sounds like you have lots of lucky little people in your life! They need teachers who are passionate about their jobs, just like you are! 🙂

  2. Sarah says:

    I love it when people love what they do! I also love our early childhood educators. I go back to work in February, and it is so great to know that my kids will be in the care of wonderful people who care about them. I’m a teacher of grade 1 & 2, and love my job as well!

    All the best in your research. Keep up the great work!

  3. You sound so passionate about what you do. Those little people are lucky to have you in their lives. I love how you’ve set your goals around your passion, giving each thing you want to accomplish a purpose. Best of luck to you with accomplishing each and every one.

Say what you gotta say

