Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Setting My Goals by the Way I Define Myself – Runner

on October 12, 2013

For most of my life, I was not an athletic person.  I tried softball and volleyball as a kid.  The anxiety they caused me was not worth it and I was terrible.  I took swimming in college and enjoyed it, but once the semester was over, I didn’t stick with it.

About five years ago, we moved here to San Antonio.  I didn’t get a job that first year.  Money was really tight and I could feel myself slipping, losing my grip on mental health (oh, if only I would have stuck with it after I got a job, more on that later).  I felt like there wasn’t much in life I could control.  But, I could control my body.  Lance bought me a pair of shoes and I started on the Couch to 5K running program.

Running makes me happy.   And, it’s all mine.  I do it just for me and no one else.

I made a goal to run 500 miles in 2013.  I am on schedule to reach that goal by the end of December.  I may or may not set another mileage goal next year.

I ran the Disneyland Half this year.  I’ll run another half in December.  I want to run a Nike Women’s Half one day and in 2015, I want to go to Disney World and run the Princess Half.  I suppose I’ll run a full marathon one day, just for the sticker on my car.

My goals as a runner are to just stay the course.  Just keep running injury free.  Just keep on loving it and feeling good.  For me.

disney

After the Disney Half with three of my favorite people.


5 responses to “Setting My Goals by the Way I Define Myself – Runner

  1. Peggy Nolan says:

    Hi Melly,

    I’m always inspired by people who set goals and then take the steps to achieve them. You literally are taking those steps. Just keep running 🙂

    Peggy

  2. Love, Love, Love this post Melly!!! Since I’ve started running, I like to think of it as cheap therapy. It clears my head, and like you it’s something I do just for me. I NEVER thought I’d ever be able to or even want to say I am a runner, but it’s something I’m proud to say I enjoy. I’ve participated in several 5K races and I too have a goal to do a half next year. Your comment about wanting to do a full marathon (which by the way is my ultimate goal), to be able to put the sticker on your car made me LOL….hey whatever motivates us right? Run Melly! Run! 🙂

  3. Benita Tyler says:

    Congratulations and wow! I love how you found the will to bounce back through running. This is an awesome lesson for anyone who feels overwhelmed. Everything that we need to make a comeback from life’s challenges is on the inside of us.

  4. Lidia Kellum says:

    Proud of you for finding your “high”. SA Brooks “shelter” is a mess & needs volunteers if you could find the time. These pups go unseen & then killed. Please recruit any help you can find & visit Brooks Babies on f/b.

  5. Sarah says:

    Love that you run for you! I do the same. I run because I enjoy it, and to achieve my own personal best. Keep it up!

Say what you gotta say

