Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Setting My Goals by the Way I Define Myself – Lover

on October 13, 2013

I am lucky.   I have the ability to love without shame or fear of rejection.   The words, “I love you,” come easy to me.  I say it often to those I love.  And I mean it.

I love my family and my friends.  I love my students.  I love words and music.  I love the rain.  I love the way it feels when you crawl in bed at night knowing that you did your best to better the world.  I love books and dogs.  I love how little kids don’t know how to judge or hate.  I love to run.  I love chocolate and beer.

I love survivors.  I love people who can laugh even when the shit is hitting the fan.  I love those who stand up for what they believe in.  I love those who have compassion for other living beings.  I love those who try their hardest to understand and seek knowledge and truth.

I love the smell of crayons and the feel of clean sheets.  I love a hot bath and a long talk on the phone with an old friend.  I love airplane rides and coming home again.

I love other teachers and nurses.  I love the way babies smell.  I love the sound of laughter and a baseball game on tv.

I love naps and soft socks.

My goal as a lover is to really try  to see the good in the world.  To really try to find the silver lining in every cloud.   I know that the world can be an ugly place.  I know that people sometimes suck.  I get so discouraged sometimes.  But, there is good in all of us.  There is beauty in the world.  There is hope.

I promise never to forget that.


2 responses to “Setting My Goals by the Way I Define Myself – Lover

  1. I hope you never do forget, as we need so much love in this world. Yours is such a refreshing attitude. Sometimes people can be so beaten down by life…I hope this never happens to you.

  2. Jean Smith says:

    Hi Melly… saw your post at UBC.
    Thanks for sharing what is in your heart… keep on lovin’,
    Best of luck,
    Jean

Say what you gotta say

