Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Setting My Goals by the Way I Define Myself – Writer

on October 13, 2013

This is the post I have been dreading.  This is when it gets real.  This post is the one I have to take a long hard look at myself and ask me, “What the heck, Melly?”

Writer.  Out of all the words I use to describe myself, this is the one that is the oldest.  I have thought of myself this way since the third grade.  Ms. Ulbrich, my third grade teacher, had us write children’s books.  I wrote a story about a little boy looking for the end of the rainbow.  It was awesome.  It got published in the school literary magazine.  I realized that I was a writer.  And, not a bad one either.

My whole life, I have jotted down notes.  Phrases and sentences that came to my mind or that I over heard and I thought were beautiful.  Notes about people who I’ve met that inspire me.  A lady with a yellow diamond, telling me that it was the color of her son’s eyes.  A little girl making up a song about a chicken walking through the snow.  My own son, being so misunderstood by those around him.

I have always loved words and understood their power to inspire or devastate.

But, Melly the Writer comes dead last in time and importance.

That;s why I started this blog last year.  To exercise my writing muscle.  To get that part of me back.  She’s there, I know she is.

But, I haven’t been writing.  I just haven’t.  It laziness.  I need to put in the time to pursue this love of mine.

My goals as a writer is to keep reading good stuff.   All good writers need to read good writing.

Also, I need  to keep writing here for now.  To try to get back to where I was.  I used to be a better writer.  I want to be good again.

There is certainly no lack of inspiration in my life.


3 responses to “Setting My Goals by the Way I Define Myself – Writer

  1. I need to start writing more too. Ruts are hard to get out of, but you can do it!

  2. Angelika says:

    If you are writing a blog you are a writer! And this blog challenge is just the right thing to get you writing again – go for it!
    Oh, and I enjoyed reading this!

  3. Benita Tyler says:

    Melly, I enjoy the sincerity in your writing. You always have such good topics in your posts!

Say what you gotta say

