Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Have You Had Your Boobies Checked?

on October 18, 2013

pink

Ok, here’s the thing: boobs are awesome.  But, they can also kill you.  Since it is Breast Cancer Awareness Month, I feel the urge to bring this up.  Again: Boobs are awesome.

Mammograms are not that bad.  I did it back when I turned 40.  I took a ride on the Boobie Bus.  Then, I even had to go back to get Lefty checked.

I’m ok.  No cancer.  And, what a relief to know that.  I’ll be getting The Girls checked again in April, when I turn 41.  It’s like a present to myself: taking care of The Girls.

If you are over 40, go.  Just go and get them checked. If you are over 20, you should be doing exams once a month, to make sure there are not any suspicious lumps.  And, if you find one.  Go get it checked out.  Be kind to your boobies!

Here is how to give yourself an exam:

Breast Exam Video  

Here is some info about mammograms, if you are afraid of the unknown (but really, it’s just your boobies getting squished between two pieces of plastic):

What to Expect On the Boobie Bus

So, what are you waiting for?  Go!


2 responses to “Have You Had Your Boobies Checked?

  1. Sherida says:

    Great post! I knew it was Breast Cancer Awareness Month – there are posters all over my work. I definitely consider getting a mammogram. What a great reminder for us women!

  2. My cousin was diagnosed with breast cancer when she was 31 years old. She does an awesome job rounding up all her friends (figuratively, on FB) on the 2nd of each month for self exams. So important!!

Say what you gotta say

