Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

20 Movies From Back in the Day That I Will Force My Tween To Watch

on October 19, 2013

Butch is growing up.  He’s trying new things.  He  went to his first dance yesterday.  He said he tried to ask a girl to dance, but chickened out.  So, he just danced.  And he had a wonderful time.

It got me thinking about when I was that age.  Movies were very important to me.  VCR’s were kind of new and going to the video store on a Friday night was my favorite thing to do.    My boys like movies too.  We love to snuggle up on the couch and watch a movie together.

And, I mean, come on, there was no decade like the 80’s for movies.  They were innocent and corny, funny and exciting.

They’ve watched Ghostbusters and Raiders of the Lost Arc.  Butch didn’t want to watch those, but then enjoyed them enough that he had to admit that I was right.  Oh, and last weekend, he watched Die Hard with me and loved it.

Here are 20 more I will require Butch, my dear tween son, to watch in these ever so important years.

1. Footloose

kevinbacon

2. The Goonies

3. The Princess Bride

4. Gremlins

gremlin

5. Sixteen Candles

6. The Breakfast Club

7. Uncle Buck

8. Weird Science

9.  Red Dawn

Red dawn

10.  The Great Outdoors

11. War Games

12. Big

13. Back to the Future

back to the future

14. E.T.

15. La Bamba

16. Stand By Me

standbyme

17. Three Men and a Baby

18. Rain Man

19. Teen Wolf

20. Pee Wee’s Big Adventure

So, if you see me at Walmart, digging through the bargain movie bin know that  it’s for my boy.  My sweet, innocent boy who is growing up so so fast.   Maybe while we are watching these movies, I can keep him closer to me for a little longer.


3 responses to “20 Movies From Back in the Day That I Will Force My Tween To Watch

  1. Amar Naik says:

    your collection of movies is great. happy UBC 🙂

  2. I love your movie collection list and I bet Butch will too!

  3. What a great selection. It brings back a lot of memories, watching movies with my own parents. I also liked Bill and Ted Movies and the Karate Kid Movies. Thank you for the trip down memory lane. I hope he enjoys them all as much as we did.

    Missy Bell
    http://www.PeaceandHappinessProject.com
    http://www.WhereTheGhostsLive.WordPress.com.

Say what you gotta say

