Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

I Swear I’ve Been Taking My Meds…

on October 20, 2013

…but I still feel so overwhelmed and stressed!  I hate that.

There are just so many things I want to learn about.   Things that I think would improve our lives.  All these ideas swirling around in my head.

For example, one of my favorite shows is Extreme Couponing.   I don’t think it is possible to extreme coupon here in San Antonio (those  people are always shopping at Piggly Wiggly and Winn Dixie and have to have subtitles on the screen when they speak, so I’m pretty sure they are in the deep south), but I’m sure that I could do some Less Extreme Couponing.  But, I need to take the time to learn how to do it.  Time, my old foe.

I also want to learn about essential oils.  There is a kid in my class that comes to school and smells so good.  Seriously, smelling his little head calms me.  I also put a lavender air freshener in the nap room and the kids have been sleeping so well.  I know there is something to all of this, but when I do a Google search and get a million and one results, I get overwhelmed and end up eating chocolate.  Google, we have a love/hate relationship.

I’ve been researching grad schools.  That’s all I’m going to say about that.  It scares me to death.

The boys’ rooms are a mess.  Sundance needs to be taught to stay organized (and, first I need to learn how to do that myself), Butch’s room needs a coat of paint and we need to seriously toss and donate some toys.

My classroom needs revamping and reorganizing.  I have a crapload of paperwork to do.  The garage looks like a garbage dump (and I want to have a stockpile in there one day).

I want to work on my writing.  I haven’t even looked at my children’s stories in months.

This really isn’t a case of trying to be Supermom.  That ship sailed long, long ago.  It’s not me comparing myself to other women, either. I stopped doing that in my 20’s.   I think it is just that I have so many interests and so many things I want to do, I find it hard to prioritize.  Time management has never been one of my strengths.   I know I do this to myself.

Ack!

If you need me, I’ll be under the bed.  Wait, no I won’t, I need to vacuum under there first.


8 responses to “I Swear I’ve Been Taking My Meds…

  1. Sherida says:

    Loved this! You have some absolutely fabulous humor! I admire that.
    I’m with you on the interests part…I’ve got so many things that I’m interested in I feel like I’m in a non-stop spin trying to grasp even just one of my interests.

  2. This is such a genuine post.
    I have that problem too especially hard now since I’ve changed our company’s focus and added even more topics.I have to do a lot of researching and sometimes delegating seems hard. ButI know I need to.

    Maybe these organizing posts from our blog will help you:
    http://www.kgstyleblogs.com/search/label/Organizing%20Tips

    xoxo,
    KG
    http://www.kgstyleblogs.com

  3. Melly says:

    Sherida, thanks! I hide my mental issues behind humor. 😉

  4. Melly says:

    KG, thanks so much. It is so important to me to “keep it real.” So, you saying that it was a genuine post really means a lot.

  5. This made me laugh – it’s so bloomin’ hard to prioritise…Writing is normally bottom of the list, after washing, ironing, cleaning, shopping, DIY (!) and everything else that’s ‘life’, I am amazed I ever get anything written at all.

    Keep smiling, keep doing a little bit at a time, and keep on keeping on!

  6. I can completely relate to this. LOL

  7. KT says:

    I can completely relate too. Sigh.

  8. Jenni says:

    Northside offered a class last year on essential oils. Another friend who’s son also has Autism uses the essential oils with him. She loves them. Let me know if you want more info!! Don’t be tempted to spend a fortune on the kits online.

Say what you gotta say

