Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

Race Report – The Illuminations Half Marathon, San Antonio, Texas

on December 11, 2013

On Saturday, I ran the inaugural Illuminations Half Marathon at the JW Marriott Resort and Spa here in San Antonio.   I have always wanted to run an inaugural event, so I can say, “I have run that race every year since the beginning,” and then act all cool and stuff.

It was a big day for me.  I got up early and ran the Dirty Girl Mud Run with three of my friends.  I thought I’d have lots of time to get eat, get home and take a nap before I had to get up and get to the Marriott to get my packet.  I would have liked another hour of sleep before.  But, I got up, popped a few Immodium AD’s and put on my lucky tank top.

luckytank

My Mrs. Incredible tank from the Disneyland Half. No capes!

I headed out to meet up with my friend, Tuck, and we headed over to the Marriott.  We got our packets, checked our bags and bundled up.

beforerace

Do I look scared? I am.

It was a frigid 32 degrees when we started and it just kept getting colder.  The course was the cart path of the resort’s golf course.  I hadn’t looked at the elevation map and was shocked at how steep the hills were! Note to self: Check the elevation map!  Oh my goodness, those hills were killer.  I had to walk up many of them.

Running is often a mental challenge.  Anyone can run, it’s just a matter of having your head in the right place.  I always knew that.  But, this event was the first time a run messed with my head.  It was dark and cold.  Really dark and really cold, which made it seem way longer than 13.1 miles.   There were a few times I just wanted to catch a ride back to the starting line.  Thank goodness for Tuck and my iPod.  They got me through it.

The race was touted as an “illuminated night race.”  My only issue with the race was the lack of  lights.  I was expecting lots of pretty lights and there were just paper bags with battery operated tea lights in them.  Many of them were not lit and knocked over.  But, it was the inaugural event and besides some path issues I had,  that was the only thing that bothered me.  I know next year, it’ll be better.  I did enjoy seeing all the other runners and the creative ways they lit themselves up.  There was even a person running in a Christmas tree costume.

All in all, a very nice event.  The medal and the shirt are beautiful.   Right now, I say that I won’t ever run in the cold like that again, but I know that if it is cold like that next year I’ll run it again (please, Dear Lord, don’t let it be that cold next year).

A special shout out to the employees at the JW Marriott Resort and Spa.  What a bunch of class acts.  If  you are ever in San Antonio for vacation, you should stay there.  It is a lovely place.

Illuminations

Me and Tuck at the finish line. I’m not gonna lie, there were tears.

That’s the last race of the year.  I’ve still got some running to do though, to make my goal of 500 miles this year.  Gotta keep going!


Say what you gotta say

