Melly Was Here

wife, mother, teacher, runner, writer, lover, fighter

The Next Run

on December 26, 2013

I set a goal to run 500 miles in 2013.  Last year at this time it didn’t seem like such an unreasonable goal.  I was planning my first half marathon and planned to get at least 10 miles in a week for sure.

There are five days left of 2013 and I have logged 442 miles.  I need to run over 10 miles a day to reach that goal by New Year’s Eve.   I started talking about it to my husband.  He got that look on his face that says, “I want to support you, but I really don’t want you to hurt yourself.”   He gets this look on his face more often than I care to admit.   When I mentioned it on Facebook, a runner friend then asked how many miles I had to complete.  When I told him, he said, “Oh. Hmmmm.”

I think this is a goal I am going to have to let go.  I know I could bust my butt and get there.  But, at what cost?  There are many important things I wanted to do over this Christmas break – namely spending time with the boys, resting and recharging.  Sure, I’ll be running, but I’m not going to lie when I say that 10 plus miles a day sounds like no fun.  No fun at all.

I know why I didn’t make it to 500 miles:  After the two half marathons I ran, I felt burned out and didn’t run for a couple of weeks.  Next time, I’ll get out there and at least walk to log some miles.   There were also quite a few weeks that I simply did not make the time get out there.  I just didn’t make it a priority.   I’ll work on that too for sure.

I’m going to look at this as a learning experience.  As much as I hate not meeting this goal I set for myself, I am not going to beat myself up for it.  If this were a friend of mine,  I’d say, “Well, 442 miles was still pretty good!  You’ll do it next year!”  I’m going to say that to myself.  I’m going to celebrate the runs and races I ran that went well.  I’m going to celebrate my firsts.  I’m going to remember the races I ran with my friends.  But, I’m also going to be ok with those runs that didn’t go so well and the goal I didn’t achieve. Because, I’m a runner.  And, that’s the great thing about running:  Being better is only as far away as the next run.

image001

I’m coming for you, 2014!


4 responses to “The Next Run

  1. mary m says:

    I’m weird. I’d get 8 miles in to make it an even 450. 😉

    But I think 442 is fantastic and you have a plan in place for next year!

  2. Melly says:

    Thanks, Mary. And, yes, you are weird. I like that about you. Always have.

  3. ljcroni says:

    Impressive running year Melly!! Can’t wait to read all about your accomplishments in 2014!!

Say what you gotta say

